Ankara Immovable Cultural Property Collection

Cultural property is the totality of all moveable or immovable property relating to science, culture, religion or the fine arts from an era of history or prehistory, or else property with special scientific or cultural value to social life in an era of history or prehistory, whether above ground, underground or underwater. In Türkiye, cultural property came under protection with the Cultural and Natural Property Protection Law no. 2863.

The process of creating the Ankara Immovable Cultural Heritage Inventory is based on photographs of the immovable cultural property in Altındağ District between 1978-1979 and an inventory study conducted by the Ministry of Culture of the period. As part of this study, 633 immovable cultural properties in Altındağ District were registered and these records were made available to researchers online.


The second phase of this inventory continued with the research and determination of 24 districts of Ankara, excluding Altındağ District. These districts are; Akyurt, Ayaş, Bala, Beypazari, Camlidere, Çankaya, Çubuk, Elmadağ, Etimesgut, Evren, Gölbaşı, Güdül, Haymana, Kalecik, Kazan, Keçiören, Kızılcahamam, Mamak, Nallıhan, Polatlı, Pursaklar, Sincan, Şereflikoçhisar and Yenimahalle.

The first phase of the comprehensive inventory work on immovable cultural properties in Ankara’s districts is currently available online. The process of adding the second phase to the digital collection has started and some of them (Akyurt, Ayaş, Bala, Beypazarı, Çamlıdere) have been opened to online access. It is aimed to complete the process of adding the immovable cultural property identified in the districts included in the inventory to the content management system in 2022 and open them to online access.

Examples from the collection: